North Linwood Park
802 East Harry St.

Placed on the Wichita Register of Historic Places September 2001

"Henry Schweiter, a Swiss immigrant, came to the United States in 1865 and made his way to Wichita by 1870. He obtained a quarter section of land that became known as Schweiter farm. In 1887, Henry and Caroline donated 40 acres of land to the City of Wichita to be maintained 'solely as a public park.' Now only about 14 acres, this park contains the only known original section of Chisholm Creek remaining within the city. Threatened by public school expansion, the heirs of Henry Schweiter and over 3,000 residents petitioned the City to have the park listed in the Wichita Register of Historic Places." (Exerted from Discover Historic Wichita! , Wichita Historic Preservation Office,

Also see: Schweiter Farm